Yes These are My Kids and No I’m Not the Nanny!

 
 
Image
 
 
I have two awesome, beautiful crazy kids…..Madison is 7 and Bryce is 3. In case you couldn’t guess they’re biracial, many times I have been out and about in the world ant this is the question I hear the most: “Are those your kids?” My inner scarcastic evil self tends to speak when asked this question and my replies normally sound like this:
 
“no these aren’t my kids, I found them on the side of the road”
 
“yes! I bought them on eBay! $5 special! You gotta get thou one”
 
“I do vaguely recall this thing called labor that I suffered through, so yeah I’m quite certain they are mine”
 
“is that your hair
 
“I bought them on Craigslist”
 
“babies R Us sells more than diapers and strollers(insert exaggerated wink here)”
 
However, I’ve never been more offended with the intrusive questions than I was one day when I was at the playground with the kids. Now where I take them is in a predominantly white neighborhood i routinely do see children there with their nannies (that are typically of Hispanic descent) and I’ve enjoyed shrinking up cordial friendships with them. Now to get to the point, I was sitting on a bench reading a book on my iPad while the kiddos frolicked in the sunshine minding my own business y’all when this lady I’m guessing she was in her mid 30’s sat next to me and asked me, “How long have you been a nanny? Would you be interested in working for me? I see that you have a nice designer bag they must be paying you well I could pay you more”. At that moment I saw red and my inner hoodrat came out (we shall call her bonquiqui) for 2.5 seconds but I reeled her in and remained myself while I read her like books 1-7 of Harry Potter. Needless to say once I was done she was redfaced and embarrassed when she scurried back to the other side of the playground. 
 
I’ve experienced lots of interesting questions and odd stares as a mother of biracial children and I’m certain that there will be more in the future. I will do my best to show my children that there is more to the world than black and white and we are living examples of an American melting pot…my children are multiracial and I am Dominican, African American, French and above all of those labels a am a mother.
 
 
Xoxo,
Dee
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss Fanny P
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 09:56:07

    i get that a lot as mine are blonde and one has bright blue eyes and the other bright green
    I have brown eyes and brown hair and so does The Husband

    Ooops!
    🙂

    Reply

  2. deedee0131
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 17:49:16

    Yes! And some people can be so rude, you’d swear they had never seen biracial children before…btw I love your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Marpay Fitness

Unleash The Lion Within!

Jesse-b PT

Healthy Happy & Active

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

